With Backpack

One World in One Lifetime

An Old Timey Time

Posted by Heliocentrism on June 7, 2010

June 3, 2010

All Pictures

Would you like to get your tooth pulled in an old-timey way?

What’s there to do in Flint?

When I got to Michigan I asked Mark, “What’s there to do in Flint?”

Mark: “Do you like beer?”

Me: “no.”

Mark: “Then there’s nothing to do.”

How is this possible? How can you have a city with living people and have nothing to do there other than going to bars?

One week after my stay in Michigan I told Mark. “Look I need to blog about this place. There has to be something to do here; something I can blog about.”

Mark: “Well there is one thing…  We could ride on the Huckleberry Railroad.”

I don’t even know what a huckleberry is or how a railroad can be made from one, but I said, “Great. I’ll get my camera!”

Crossroads Village is a place that is kept like it was in the 1800’s. The people who work there wear clothes of the period and act like they are living in the olden days.

Downtown 1800’s

When Mark and I got there, we noticed that we were the only adults in the village without any kids. In fact some grown ups had 8 or 9 kids with them. I wasn’t jealous at all.

The place was filled with children. Many of them were dressed in old timey clothes. This I was a bit jealous about. Most of them came on field trips from school. They all seemed to be having fun.

But around 15:00 all the kids cleared out. It became a ghost town. Mark and I had the village all to ourselves, except for a couple other people.

We walked around going from one demonstration to another. The villagers were very friendly and talkative. I think they were just happy to talk to an adult.

There is an old train that runs on the oldest train tracks in Michigan, a Ferris Wheel, and other rides.

All Pictures


The United States of America

How to get there:

You can enter my country by land, air, or sea. But I think flight would be your transportation method of choice.

I have no clue how to get a visa to the US or who needs one. Just assume that you need one if you are not American or Canadian and check with your local US embassy.


  • Use 911 for the police, fire department, or to get an ambulance
  • Use 411 for information (This might cost money.)






  • It’s a big country. You’re going to need a car.

Crossroads Village

How to get there:

  • 43°05’37.3″N 83°39’07.9″W
  • directions from their website
  • Follow I-475 off either I-75 or I-69 to Saginaw Street (Exit 13).
  • Take Saginaw Street north to Stanley Road,
  • then go east on Stanley Road to Bray Road.
  • Take Bray Road south to Village entrance.


6140 Bray Rd.
Flint, MI 48505-1807


  • 1-800-648-PARK




  • Adult – 10USD/ 13USD with train ride
  • Kids – 8UDS/ 10USD with train ride


  • Changes with the season.


  • This is mainly for kids, but what else is there to do in Flint?


Leave a Reply

