With Backpack

One World in One Lifetime

In the Navy

Posted by Heliocentrism on July 26, 2010

July 7, 2010

All Pictures

Malcolm in trouble

A Very Big Ship, and a sub

It was a very hot ship. It was a huge ship. Most of the ship was not air-conditioned. The day was very hot and there were a lot of stairs. I tried to see as much of the ship as possible. The heat and time were against me.

There are six sections, or as they call them, “tours”, on the ship. I got through only four of them and the top deck. Eventually, I had to take refuge in the cinema, one of the two sections of the boat with a/c. There was a video showing the history of the ship as well as the history of WWII.

We always walk through ships while posing at every turn.

The ship is the USS Yorktown (CV-10); the 4th USS Yorktown. Although this Yorktown did fight during WWII, neither it nor its predecessor was stationed in Hawaii at the time the Japanese bombed Pearl Harbor. The Yorktown (CV-5), the ship the CV-10 replaced sank in the Battle of Midway in June 1942.

The CV-10 fought several battles in the Pacific during WWII, but my favorite of its missions is the retrieval of the Apollo 8 Command Module in 1968.

George H. W. Bush

After chilling out in the cool cinema. We went to see the sub in the front. It was cramp like most subs, but nothing that would bring out my claustrophobia. But I do have a lot of respect for the men and women who live in one of those things.

Filming Army Wives

You’ve Never Heard of the Show!?

As we were leaving, we saw a film crew setting up for a shoot. The kids asked someone in the crew what was going on. They were told that the show “Army Wives” was being filmed.

I’ve never heard of the show, but was still slightly excited to get a glimpse of some filming in action… well at least the setting up for the filming.

By the way, the movie Tora! Tora! Tora! was filmed on the USS Yorktown (CV-10). Again, a movie I have never seen. When I was younger I thought it was a movie about the Jewish holy book.

What should I buy?

More Shopping

We then went to downtown Charleston and walked through the Market Hall and Sheds. I was very much tempted by many of the items that I saw there. But since I knew that I would eventually be heading to Japan and that I wouldn’t be able to fit everything in my little suitcase, I had to hold back.

All Pictures


 

The United States of America

How to get there:

You can enter my country by land, air, or sea. But I think flight would be your transportation method of choice.

I have no clue how to get a visa to the US or who needs one. Just assume that you need one if you are not American or Canadian and check with your local US embassy.

Phone:

  • Use 911 for the police, fire department, or to get an ambulance
  • Use 411 for information (This might cost money.)

Website:

Downloads:

Videos:

Books: 

Notes:

  • It’s a big country. You’re going to need a car.

Lake Aire RV Park

How to get there:

  • 32°46’39.1″N 80°08’52.4″W
  • Directions from the website

Address:

4375 Highway 162
Hollywood, SC 29449

Phone:

  • 1-843-571-1271

Website

Download:

Cost

Notes:

  • There is free wi-fi. Not every camping spot can get wi-fi, but there are many hot spots throughout the camp.

Patriot’s Point

How to get there:

Address:

40 Patriots Point Road
Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464

Phone:

  • 1-843-884-2727

Website

Download:

Cost:

  • Adults – 18USD

Hours:

  • 9:00 – 18:30

Videos:

Books:

Notes:

  • Parking cost $5 per vehicle.

Market Hall and Sheds

How to get there:

Address:

188 Meeting St.
Charleston, SC 29401

Phone:

  • (843) 853-8000 or
  • toll-free (800) 868-8118

Website

Download

Hours:

  • Mar.-Oct. 8:30-5:30;
  • Nov.-Feb. 8:30-5:00

Map:

Leave a Reply

 
