With Backpack

One World in One Lifetime

It’s Longer Than the 2nd and 3rd Longest Caves Combined!

Posted by Heliocentrism on July 29, 2010

July 15, 2010

All Pictures

Surprise cave photo!

Me Spelunk?

I’m claustrophobic. But if I wasn’t, this would have been my spelunking paradise! There’s even a kids-only tour. I, and my family, stuck to the regular walk-through-the-cave tour. No need for me to have a melt down in front of my niece and nephews.

It’s a big cave!

Of course we got to the park a little later in the day than we’d plan and chose the “whatever’s next” tour. But, lucky for us it was the Historic tour, the one my brother would have picked anyway.

Stop moving!

It was 2 hours of walking through a deep, dark, cold, cave with story breaks of historic tails. The tour guide was very informative and loved when people asked questions, especially the kids.

I managed to get a few good photos in while everyone passed me. Flash photos didn’t come out so well. The cave is just too big for that to work. The key was long exposures if you can stand very still.

This is where I came close to a panic attack.

Fat Man’s Misery

My least favorite part of the tour was a section called “Fat Man’s Misery”. It was a tight fit. It would have not been such a big deal, but there was some bottlenecking. Those in the front walked through the area with no problem. Those in the middle and the back sections had to go slowly through the path, behind people who could not move quickly. For about 5 minutes all I could see was the person right in front of me and I was hunched over. I didn’t like it at all.

Checkers before goodbye

Adios Hermano y familia

This was the last day we traveled with Malcolm, Vonia, and all the kids. We ate at a family restaurant, played checkers, and said our long goodbyes. They headed north for Ohio and we headed south for Tennessee. It was fun traveling with them! But, I’ll see them once more before I head off to Japan.

"My friends back home are all having fun without me,

“My friends are all playing basketball without me.”😦

Poor Matthew 

By the end of the trip, Matthew was just dying to get home.

All Pictures


The United States of America

How to get there:

You can enter my country by land, air, or sea. But I think flight would be your transportation method of choice.

I have no clue how to get a visa to the US or who needs one. Just assume that you need one if you are not American or Canadian and check with your local US embassy.


  • Use 911 for the police, fire department, or to get an ambulance
  • Use 411 for information (This might cost money.)






  • It’s a big country. You’re going to need a car.

Mammoth Cave National Park

How to get there:


Mammoth Cave National Park
1 Mammoth Cave Parkway
Mammoth Cave, KY 42259


  • 1-270-758-2180





  • About 8:30 – 16:00


  • You can camp here. Make sure to get reservations during the peak season.


Leave a Reply

