With Backpack

One World in One Lifetime

The Cable Car Doesn’t Go Far

Posted by Heliocentrism on August 21, 2010

March 01, 2008

All Pictures

I always look so happy before I go hiking…

It’ll be easy; there’s a cable car.

This one was my idea. I saw a picture of a suspension bridge on a mountain in Korea and it motivated me to see it for myself. I found that there were two such mountain bridges. One was on Wolchansan the other on Daedunsan.

I opted to hike up Daedunsan because it has a cable car that takes you part way up the mountain. That way I wouldn’t have to do so much hiking, right?  Well it helped me to convince a co-worker and his girlfriend into joining me.

Well, the cable car only takes you so far up. You still have to hike up half the mountain and the peak. But the cable car does give you a magnificent view if you’re brave enough to look.

You can’t see the fear in my eyes from this distance.

The suspension bridge is not very scary. The cable car was more frightening. The bridge doesn’t even shake when people walk across it. People would have to stomp their way along the bridge for it to move just a bit. I was able to look down at the heads of the people who didn’t take the cable car. That gave me a little satisfaction.

This is where it got real.

What was scary was the climb up the stair case to the peak. It was a fantastic view when I turned around, but then I wanted to throw up. The stairs are very high up and it made me feel exposed when I was on it, like I could easily fall off the mountain if I tripped or if the wind blew hard enough. I held on tightly to the railing and stepped very carefully.

There’s no turning back.

It was very icy on the peak. Sometimes ice forms at the top of mountains on windy days. There was a stone path and a rope to hold onto. I was quite entertained watching hikers try to get up the peak. I counted 7 falls by 5 different people.

I just want to be alone for my mountain top photo!

There were some hikers wearing crampons, but I didn’t think that was needed. There was some ice at the top, but it didn’t justify lugging crampons up the entire mountain. They would only be needed for the last 30 meters.

I’ll just push these guys off the mountain.

I made it up to the top without falling, though I came close a couple times. I was quite proud of myself and looked down on the people who fell. Then, on my way down from the peak, the mountain must have moved and smacked me on my back side. I jump up before anyone saw, but had trouble staying up. I slid again this time right into a patch of mud. I descended Deadunsan with a muddy butt.

That’s better

No, there are no pictures of that!

All Pictures


South Korea

How to get there:

  • You can enter by plane, boat, or train, though entry by train is rare if not damn impossible for most non-presidents of North or South Korea.
  • Most citizens from many countries do not need to get a visa before going to South Korea.
  • People of most nationalities will get a 90-day visa at the airport or ferry port.
  • To be completely sure, check with the Korean embassy in your country.






  • Korea is a generally safe country. You don’t really have to watch out for pickpockets,muggers, or scam artists.
    • You should watch out when crossing the streets, beware of scooters on the sidewalk, and the little old ladies that will push you to get that last seat on the bus or subway.
  • Use common sense and you will be okay.
  • Things are generally inexpensive and there are many wonderful things to buy.

Enjoy Korea! I live there for 2 years and had a fantastic time.


How to get there:

  • Coordinates 36°07’12.5″N 127°19’24.5″E
  • At the time I went, first we had to get to either Daejeon or Jeonju.
  • From there we had to go to Seobu Terminal in Daejeon or Jeonju Intercity Bus Terminal to get to the mountain.
  • I think both bus rides are about 1 hour.



  • There is no entry fee
  • The cable car is 3,500KRW


  • 9:00 – 18:00
  • Times change dues to seasons and weather


If you hike in the winter, you might want to bring crampons and a change of clothes. Okay, maybe crampons are a bit extreme… But watch your step.


Leave a Reply

