With Backpack

One World in One Lifetime

Where is my robot butler!?

Posted by Heliocentrism on September 30, 2010

October 1, 2010

The JET Programme Welcome team meeting me at Narita Airport

Miss me?

As you may have noticed, I haven’t updated my blog in quite a while. It’s not because exciting stuff have stopped popping up in my life. NOoooOoo. In the past month, I’ve moved to Japan, bought a car, got 2 new sets of co-workers, moved into a new apartment,…. well the list goes on.

Basically, this is the whole town.

The main thing is that I moved… to a small city in Japan in the middle of rice fields. And I’m still waiting for my internet at home to be connected. There’s a lot of red tape envolved in doing just about anything in Japan and the internet is no exception.

It’s stressful. I’ve gotten phone calls from the internet company where they tell me that they just called to tell me that they will call me sometime later.

JET orientation in Tokyo

Me:                “So you called me to tell me that you will call me some other time?”

Int Agent : “Yes.”

Me:               “So why didn’t you just call me when you were going to call me and not call me to tell me that you are going to call me?”

Int Agent: “What?”

Me:              “Nevermind…”

Int Agent: “Okay. We just want to make sure you understand. We are going to call you sometime later, Ok?”

Me:             “Sure, I guess”

Int Agent: “Okay. Bye.”

It tastes like sweet and minty tomato soup.

So I sit at home eating my Tomato-Mints waiting for the next phone call…

Japanese technology is not at all what you think it is. Most stores do not accept credit cards. My bank card does not work all over Japan, in fact it only works in Oita-県 (県= Prefecture). There are vending machines everywhere, but they don’t sell much that I want to buy.

And there are no robots anywhere! Not one!


And my car is really small…

That’s all the car I could handle.

When the internet people finally call me, not just to tell me that they will call me later, but to tell me that they will connect my internet, I will start blogging again. Hopefully that will not be too far in the future.

“I’ll help you get the internet!”

One Response to “Where is my robot butler!?”

  1. […] the end of August I was in Japan and working in 2 high schools. A few weeks after that, Mark joined me. He later got a job teaching at a private […]


Leave a Reply

