With Backpack

One World in One Lifetime


Posted by Heliocentrism on November 21, 2011

October 1-2, 2011

All Pictures

My team in green and our opponents in black

Frisbee at the beach sounds like fun.

First, let me tell you how I got into this mess, because at the start of this particular weekend, I felt tricked. I got an invitation on Facebook. I didn’t read all the details, but what I got from it were the words “beach”, “frisbee”, and “barbecue”. That sounded like fun! The actual event was months away and the exact details hadn’t been completely worked out, but I RSVPed “attenting” anyway. Then I didn’t give it a second thought.

Getting the rules of the tournament

About a month before the event I got an email from someone asking my shirt size, date of birth, and other questions that may or not have included how heart-attack prone I was at the moment. I didn’t think much about it. I don’t even remember responding. Someone actually called me on the phone and left several messages to ask those questions a few times before I got around to responding.

So tired… and it’s only noon on the first day.

It sounds like you think it’s a real sport

Then I got an invite to practice frisbee one weekend. I didn’t have time, but I thought it was cute that people would get together to practice throwing around a frisbee, like it was a real sport… They had 3 or 4 practices, but I was always too busy to go.

Then the weekend of the frisbee thing, Mark told be that we would be leaving at 4:30am.

Me – “What!? 4:30 in the morning!? …on a Saturday?! Why?”

Mark – “Well the tournament is at a beach in Komamoto Prefecture.”

Me – “Wait, what!? Tournament? I thought we were just going to toss around a frisbee on a beach and then have a barbecue.”

Mark – “Yea. That ‘tossing around a frisbee’ is called Ultimate Frisbee.”

Me – “It sounds like you think it’s a real sport.”

Mark – “It is a real sport. It’s Ultimate Frisbee.”

Me – “???”

I had deadly aim though!

I learned quickly that ultimate is a real sport. Oh my god, the horrible things they made me do! … like running, jumping, catching, and throwing. …for 2 days! I was exhausted by the end of the first day. One girl on my team disappeared after lunch refusing to play any more.

The girl who went missing is not in this photo.

The first day it was just the amateurs. They split up all the teams and put everyone on new teams with people we had never met before. By coincidence I was on a team with a JET I met the week before in Amakusa. We managed to win one game and I scored one point. Both happened after the girl left us one player short. I didn’t hate her for leaving, but I did wish I had the chance to disappear first.

grilling in the dark

The barbecue that night was amazing and we earned it! We stayed in a cabin by the beach. Many JET’s stayed up to talk with other JET’s from around Kyushu, but those of us from Oita city went to bed early. I for one, was tired. We had just the right amount of people. Our cabin could not hold one more person. All our floor space was taken.

Even with our cabin filled to capacity, we did not finish grilling all the meat we were given. We actually opened another pack of meat and ate that for breakfast. (And, because Mark and I brought a cooler filled with ice bags, we took home the last 2 packs of meat and one of vegetables. Someone else took home the other extra pack of vegetables. They gave us a whole lot of food!)

I don’t need no afro wig!

The Disco-saurus Wrex

The next day we played with the teams we came with. These teams were a lot bigger, but now we would play with college teams. We expected to be slaughtered, so we put on crazy costumes and tried to have fun. But we had no strategy. We didn’t think we needed it; we never thought we would win any games.

How can we best punish the winners?

Our reward is to play more games?

But we did. We, unfortunately, won all our morning games. I say unfortunately, because by winning all our first games, we placed into the highest bracket for the afternoon games. We were up against the young, talented, college aged, ultimate frisbee scholarship-receiving teams.

Go Green!

This is where our winning streak ended. But it was not at all shameful. When we lost, we lost by one or two points. Below is a video of one of those points.

In the end, I had tons of fun. I would do it again next year.

Actually, no I wouldn’t.

everyone needs a shoulder rub

All Pictures



How to get there:

You can enter Japan by plane or boat. Though, the number of boats going to Japan from other countries has gone down significantly.

Americans get 90-day visas to Japan at the port of entry. Check with your nearest Japanese embassy or consulate for visa information.







  • Be careful what over the counter drugs you bring into Japan.  Actifed, Sudafed, Vicks inhalers, and Codeine are prohibited.
  • InternationalATMs are really hard to find; more so if you aren’t in a big city. Many places in Japan do not use credit cards.TakecashandcallyourbanktoaskwhatATMs or banks in Japan will work with your cash card.
    • ATMs have opening hours. Usually 9:00-18:00 (They have better work hours than most business men and women here.)
  • You can get a Japan Railway, pass which saves you a lot of money on the trains, but you can only buy it before you get to Japan and you cannot be a resident of Japan. (I don’t have more information about it because I’ve only ever lived in Japan. I’ve never been a tourist.)

1st Annual All-Kyushu Mixed
Ultimate Beach Tournament

(Ichi Kyu Bee)
(第一回全九州ビーチ アルテメツト大会)




  • 1500YEN
    • Price includes 2 days of games,
    • field rental,
    • insurance,
    • and a FREE T-shirt


  • 2 full days of exhausting fun


If you plan to do this next year you will need:

  • to be in good shape
  • thick socks
  • a hat
  • sunscreen
  • lots of water

Otachimisaki Park
(Otachinomisaki Marin House)

How to get there:

  • 32°21’44.5″N 130°29’25.1″E


御立岬公園 Otachimisaki Park, Ashikita

Japan, 〒869-5305 熊本県葦北郡芦北町大字田浦町145


  • 0966-87-2390 for a Cabin




  • There are many things to do in this park, like go-cart driving, golf, fishing, …
  • There are restaurants open during the summer, but not other seasons.
    • Bring your own food and water if you do this next year (if it is at this park).


Leave a Reply

